So, in the last month I’ve had a bladder infection, an ear infection, a yeast infection (courtesy of the antibiotics for the bladder infection) and a sinus infection. I’ve had more fevers in 30 days than the past 5 years. I’ve taken so many different medications, I don’t even know what I’m sposed to be taking anymore. Hold up… I think I’m actually done all the drugs now.

Seriously. I am an infection bomb. What the hell happened to me this winter? Someone asked me who I had pissed off, but my karma bill is paid up and in a positive balance. I don’t have children. I don’t take public transit. The only things I have done differently is change gyms and start swimming.

For sure, the ear infection is from the pool. I thought I just had eczema in that ear, but no. That was just the early stages of the infection. Luckily, the nurse practitioner told me how to prevent it from coming back (1:1 vinegar and water in a little urine collection jar that he gave me, from which I will use a little dropper and swish it around my ears after swimming). I’m most excited about whipping out the urine collection jar at the pool. I think that’s going to go over really well.

On Thursday, I had just about given up. I shouldn’t have gone to work at all, but there was a presentation that had to be done and I have stuff to prove to my boss, so I went. The presentation went late, my boss asked me into her office to debrief and I was all “nope, fever, must put on PJs right now”.

You know what sucks? Fever. Also, fever when you live alone. I stopped by the grocery store to stock up on food that can be prepped in 5 minutes or less and is easy to swallow. Nothing quite like a sinus infection to raw up my throat. Interestingly, the fever made my face really raw too. Then I put on my PJs. On Friday I got up, had a bath, put clean PJs on, changed my sheets, and had a nap. Enough said. On Saturday I actually got dressed. I bought shoes and wool (there has been some scarf knitting happening, and it was very clear that I was not going to have enough yarn). I had a nap.

Today, I went for a 90 minute walk (including a short intermission at a coffee shop for my friend) with my new hiking partner (aka my former squash partner and friend, Barb). We WERE going to hike in the woods, but there was a snow storm on Friday and I can deal with frozen ground or mud, but not mud and snow. It’s just rude. So we did an urban (pavement) stroll through my hood.

I’m worried, though. I’m starting to think that I’m not going to be able to do this triathlon. That’s so much infection and back pain and infection and more infection in one winter that virtually no training has been done. And I’m very very out of shape. And heavy. And uncomfortable.

This triathlon is in 5 weeks. I’m going to Chicago for five days in that time, leaving me 30 days or thereabouts of training time. Can I achieve significant cardio fitness gains in 30 days? Is it possible to do that while still being a bit run down from repeated infection and really rather fatigued?

What do you think, readers? What would you do?

