I know, it’s been quite some time since a Year of Kerry update, hasn’t it? What’s going on with my goals, you wonder?

Well, this year I’ve lost in total a little over 35 pounds, mostly since june when I went to Fitness Ridge. I went from a size 20 to a size 14/16, depending on the day and the label. I went from a sedentary life to a non-sedentary life and am slowly creeping back to sedentary. I moved to a new house in a very pedestrian-friendly neighbourhood near my best friends, who I now see regularly instead of on exceptional occasions. I’ve had my parents over for dinner three times now, for um, the first three times of my life. I even cooked thanksgiving dinner last night.

On the job front, I’ve decided to continue meeting people and competing for jobs, but I’m going to wait for the job I want and not just take any old job. This means that sometimes I apply for something and then turn down the interview because I’m just not that interested. Sometimes I just mess up the interview (I’m human!) . I’m really good at my current job and there’s a lot to be said about being good at what you do, you know? Also, since July, I’ve only worked on two weekends, which is a pretty huge thing for me. Admittedly I’m at work on Thanksgiving monday, but that’s only because I need to have no interruptions to write performance assessments and there’s always a line of people outside my door on a regular workday.

So, I’ve achieved a lot of my goals, except that I’ve fallen off my weight loss train. In order to combat that, I’m going back to Fitness Ridge for two weeks in December. I’m hoping to lose 5 pounds before I go, and 5-7 pounds while I’m there. That would put me at a major milestone which would make me pretty fricking happy.

Tomorrow is a new day, and I’m going back to the gym and eating less crap. My core food remains good, is the “extras” that need to stop. Compared to where I was in January, bingeing three or more times a week, I am a fricking rock star. Compared to a weight loss food plan, I still have a ways to go.

The Year of Kerry has thus far been very good. I’m glad I did it, and I recommend it to everyone.

