I don’t think it’d surprise any of you knowing that I’ve had a few backslides since I came back from Fitness Ridge. Not losing much weight sort of gave me the incentive to binge a little. Yeah, I’m not gonna lie. I binged.

But, last week I read the Biggest Loser 30 Day Jumpstart book and it seems rather reasonable. I have the next week all planned out. Well, let me back up a few steps…

I don’t know why people don’t make more spiral bound books. Okay, i do. They’re more expensive than glue, but still, people… it’s a book that requires you to look at every single page more than once. And to DO stuff while the book is open. Think for a minute. A spiral binding would have been nice.

I spent Saturday afternoon cutting each page for all 30 days out of the book and putting them in sheet protectors in a binder. I’m just saying, a spriral binding would have been a lot smaller than a 2″ binder. And a whole lot cheaper than the $13 I had to spend for 100 sheet protectors. I’m just putting that out there to the publishers of the book, in case they want to send me a spiral bound copy for free. Yanno. Just cause.

Anyway, that’s what I did Saturday, and this morning I scoured through the first week’s food to make a grocery list. I decided up front that I would be making each item twice instead of something different each meal each day. Cause that’s just a little too labour intensive for me. So, this week for breakfasts I’m having:

  •  a ham/egg/cheese sandwich; 3/4c blueberries and milk;
  • a yogurt and fruit parfait with an egg and some turkey bacon;
  • the “omelet of champions”, with fruit and milk.

Lunches will be:

  • a turkey wrap with veg and fruit;
  • tuna melt (without mayo!) with veg and fruit;
  • salad with protein.

Snacks (of which there will be two a day), will consist of:

  • Ryvita with PB and J (sadly, only one slice)
  • apple with string cheese
  • raw almonds and fruit
  • hard boiled eggs with the yolks replaced by hummus
  • cottage cheese and fruit.

Dinners will consist of:

  • Chicken breast, grilled veg, and milk;
  • pork and garlic stir fry, rice, fruit and milk;
  • salmon, rice, veg and fruit and yogurt.

Each day has a planned intake of around 1500 calories. They recommend that you hold about 200 calories in reserve and eat them when you really need it. I’m thinking popcorn or gobstoppers. That’s a lot of each food.

This week, you do 20-30 minutes of walking each day and 20 minutes of stretching and core work, all demo’d for you by Ali Vincent, Season 5 winner. Totally doable. I might even go fro broke and do twice that amount of walking a day, or switch it up to running (because I’m pretty sure I can run for four minutes at a time, two or three times).

Needless to say, there was an AMAZING amout of food prep today. Truly shocking. I had to call in reinforcements in the form of my Mum, who was a cooking, slicing, dicing machine today.

Okay, would I normally have to do that? No, but I had three weeks worth of ironing piled up. So much ironing even my mum said “whoa, that’s a lot of ironing”. It’s true. It was a little insane. So yeah, Mum came over and cooked, Dad did some barbecuing and pressure washing (my bbq hasn’t looked that good since the day he put it together!), and I ironed. A lot. For almost all of Gladiator, which let me tell you is still one of my all time favourite movies. Sigh.

Anyway, I’ll be logging in periodically during the week to let you know how it’s going. I’m hoping this week is less stressful than last at work, as stress is a primary cause for binge eating in my life. I had an interesting chat with a guy last night who told me that when he moved from the type of job that I have to a more long-term, strategic position he became a whole other person, someone he liked and that his wife liked too. Twelve more months, I said. Twelve more months.

Wish me luck, courage, and fortitude. Oh, and Rodale? If you want to send me Bob or Jillian, I wouldn’t resist!

