My friend Leslie told me today that diet coke in Resolute is $5 a can. Resolute (population 229) is clearly a hamlet of the very small and very remote variety. It takes 10 hours to fly from Ottawa to Resolute, which equates to roughly the same amount of time as to fly from here to Cairo. I’m totally not kidding about that. And apparently it’s going to look equally as foreign to me, a landlubber from the Canadian (aka Laurentian) shield.

You know what else they don’t have a lot of in the arctic? Fruits and vegetables. Luckily, they have canned food, which I believe the ship will have brought with it from Newfoundland. I hope. I assume. After all, they don’t want the crew to get scurvy, do they?

Leslie also mentioned that they have deep fried vegetables on the type of ship I’m going to be on. Good news to counter the bad nutrition? No elevators on the ship which is, if I’m not mistaken, six storeys high. And, there’s apparently a gym (for the crew to counter the fried food and the cookies they have as snacks), though I have no idea how it’s equipped. Did I mention the cookies? Gawd. And the no diet coke? Double gawd.

Wish me luck, people. Wish me luck. This is either gonna be the coolest thing ever, or the roughest two weeks of my life! I’m thinking positive. How about you?

