Hello sports fans! I know, I know, I’ve been a blog slacker lately. It’s true and I’m sorry. But a lot has been going on in my life, and some of it I wasn’t really ready to share with the world.

So, when we last met, I was in physio hell, trying to rehab my shoulder so I could play squash again. Guess what? I’m still in physio. The shoulder is about as good as it’s going to get if I’m going to play squash (I’m up to 4 times a week now, and now we’re playing for points… doh). I’m now alternating the shoulder with the achilles tendon issue. My physio started grinding on the latter last week and determined that I have more muscle in my calves than many of his clients do in their quads. I’m quite proud of that. Achilles physio made me cry, and I’m still bruised seven days later. Suffice to say, I’m doing everything he said to do so that it won’t hurt so much next time.

I’m not sure what’s going on with the bruising lately though. I had a blood test on Monday and I’m still bruised. I whacked myself on the thigh with my squash racquet and have a perfect bruise shaped exactly the same as the end of the squash racquet handle. It’s a  lot more bruising than I’ve experienced since my party bruise days.

But, I digress. I also signed up with this clinic to help me change some of my eating patterns. I told them I need help with the following things: timing of food; how to overcome being hungry all the time; and how to eat and be really active and not increase your hunger levels. I’ve got high hopes. I told the doctor I met with on the first day (for an hour… seriously. An hour!) that I’d be pretty good with not getting weighed again for six months. I don’t care how much I weigh, really. I need to figure out a weight to combat my family genes and hopefully eliminate the belly fat. I hate it, and it’s not doing me any favours.

I am, of course, hungry as hell. I’m going to see if I can get in to see the nutritionist again next week. She was pretty great this week, and said if I needed to meet with her more often, that was fine. My only goal for the first few weeks is to be less hungry. That’s it. I’m trying to find single servings of protein that aren’t high fat or calorie that will fill me up. It’s harder than you’d think. I’m trying out about eight different options over a week, and will see which ones work best for me.

Things at work are going pretty well. I’m still working rigidly regular hours, which is pretty awesome. I’m replacing my boss for five weeks, which is a bit stressful, but doable (only 16 more work days til she gets back!). I have the week of labour day booked off work, and I’m going to hang around Ottawa, get a massage, go to Le Nordik, and maybe get a pedicure. Nothing major, but definitely relaxing. Maybe I’ll even paint a room. Just cause. 

So yeah, lots going on. I think this is me, having a life. It’s so weird.

