So, I love my job. I do.  I love it because I’m so much less stressed and so much more of a decent human being now that it borders on the ridiculous. I work 8 hours a day, no more, no less, about 14 days out of 15. That 15th day tends to get a little hairy, but in the grand scheme of things, who cares? I used to work 10 hours a day and be on call until 10pm every night and all weekends and holidays. And I get paid the same!

The one downside of this job is that I have time. You think that’s awesome, right? I can actually plan, develop, do things that are meaningful. I also, however, have time to get hungry. Yesterday I got up (woo!), it was rainy and miserable (yuck!), I came to work (neutral!), and was hungry immediately. I sucked it up til 9am and had my first snack (cheese and crackers), and was hungry an hour later. At 10:30 I decided to try yet again to find some godawfulsmell reducing product (I have a very stinky shoe drawer here at work) at Shoppers and somehow a snickers bar fell into my hands.

Okay, I picked it up and paid for it purposefully and willingly.  Lunchtime seemed SO FAR AWAY (can you hear the booming echo of my stomach as I type that?) and I was really cranky and frankly not fit for human consumption. The snickers bar is pretty much guaranteed to turn off my hunger for at least 90 minutes.

Guess what? It worked. I ate lunch exactly 95 minutes later and I didn’t feel the need to snack that afternoon. Wasn’t hungry. Was totally fine.  Made plans to go to yoga (for the first time) at my gym at 7:30. Went home on time (yay!), put on my gym clothes (to make sure I’d go), made some dinner (who doesn’t love roast beef?) and said “oh man, it’s only six. I don’t need to leave for another hour or so”.

I sat down to read a book I got from the library. Okay, I actually lay down on my bed to read a book I got from the library. And it was a really good book. And then it was apparently a really good nap because I woke up when I rolled over and my glasses stabbed me in the face. It was 7:45.

So, to recap, I ate 300 calories more than planned and didn’t workout at all. Good times. Good times.

However! I went to the clinic this morning to meet with the personal trainer. She’s very happy. I’m an active adult. Consistently active, which is apparently what she likes to see. It’s all very exciting to the trainer, because it means she’s not trying painfully to figure out what kinds of physical activities I might enjoy. I already know, and I already do what I like.

I also bought some more lower calorie high protein bars. They’re yummy. They’re expensive. But really? The cheese and cracker snack isn’t all that cheap either, and the protein bars fill me up a lot more.

Tonight, there will be squash. I will be victorious.

