About two months ago, Dr Freedhoff asked me to confirm the amount of time I was willing to spend each day in making my weight loss journey stick. I said no more than 30 minutes, and he said that was pretty amazing. I wasn’t sure what he meant, but he actually meant that it was great because most people have a hard time committing to a specific amount of time to themselves.

Yanno, I live alone. I have no dependents. I don’t even have a plant, people. I do have 70 employees who depend on me and a bunch of people around the town that I work with to help them develop their career. At the end of the day, I’m kinda tired. So, 30 minutes a day is actually a pretty good thing.

The doc suggested that if I only had 30 minutes a day, I should spend the majority of it on food prep, and if I had time left over to go for a brisk walk.

You know what I have a problem with? Food prep. And going for a walk. I hate going for walks by myself. Walking alone is what you do when you’ve got a destination. I’m just sayin’.

You know what I’m a lot better with? Organizing an activity with someone else and actually going. I play basketball on monday, squash on tuesday and thursday nights, and again saturday and sunday mornings. I am a physical activity rock star. Heck, I went to Montreal and stress ate my head off, and went to NYC for three days, and I didn’t gain any weight at all. I know that’s because I’m actually rather active.

Now I need to learn to make choices. Today, I was supposed to play squash. But I’ve had this rash since Monday (extreme dry skin) and I’m a bit tired and I had an appointment with the nutritionist tonight so I made a choice. I cancelled squash (which I love), for a chat with a dietitian about holiday parties and special diets.

Today, I made a choice. I made a choice that will strengthen my burgeoning positive relationship with food. I made a choice that will get me towards a seasonal goal of maintaining weight instead of gaining it. I made a good choice, and today, today I’m going to congratulate myself.

Way to go, Me!

