Yesterday, I found out that I was not successful in a job process for a promotion. It was actually a process to pre-qualify people for the next pay level. I got the email, read it, and was actually relieved.

What? How does a type A person switch over from all career, all the time to being relieved when I don’t qualify for some future position? I know, I was a little shocked myself.

The thing is, I like my job. I have a real opportunity to see medium term (in the government, that’s 3-5 years) change that helps employees and managers in my department. I have the possibility to create a vision that will sustain us in my particular area for the next ten or so years, and implement that vision. I have the ability to make things better.

How many jobs have you had where you’ve been granted the opportunity to develop, sell, and implement a vision? Where you’ve been told that it’s time to make a change for the better? I mean, c’mon. I work for the government in corporate services. There’s not a whole lot of making it better.

If I qualified for a promotion, I’d be spending the next three years wondering when it was going to happen, with the chance of losing focus on the job that I already¬†have, where I can learn and grow.

I’m a 35 year old executive with 20 years to go til my earliest possible retirement date. I make a very decent salary. I have a great boss, her boss is great, and I have a great team that I work with. I’m happy to hang out and do something real and good for a few years. I’m happy not to be considered.

Weird. I think I’m becoming an adult.

