My gym had a poster up above its water fountains outlining what most people eat for christmas dinner, how many calories it would be, and what activity you’d have to do to neutralize it. The long and short of it was that they predicted most people would eat around 4400 calories for the dinner alone, not including all the extra eating before and after.

When I discussed that with the doc, he said that he agreed with that assessment of dinner, and that it equated to a pound of weight gain. For one meal. His recommendation was that if you’re going to eat that many calories, every one of them should be worth it.

With that in mind, I’m here to tell you that I made it through Christmas Day in less than 3000 calories. Not just for dinner, but for the whole day!

I had a small breakfast here at my house, less than 30 minutes after I woke up. Then I went to my parents’ house and we opened our stockings and had cinnamon rolls and bacon. I had three slices of bacon and four small buns. Holy moderation, Batman.

Dad and I went to the movies at 11:40 to see True Grit (a little weird, but it’s gorwing on me in retrospect). I made myself a ham sandwich (on a WW bagel) and brought it to the cinema along with three clementines.

In the afternoon I had a small piece of coconut cake  (286 cals of pure heaven), thanks to Cooking Light, and 6 cashews. Then for dinner I had about 7 ounces of turkey, 3/4 of a cup of mashed potatoes, 1/2 cup of turnips, 1/3 cup of peas, and 1/3 cup of powdered (no drippings) gravy. For dessert I had another slice of cake and two chocolate chip cookies.

Every single calorie was worth it, and I made it out of the day just shy of 3000 calories.

Food tracking started again today and I am totally on track. I building in some treats, but will be on my calorie target for the day. I think I might make it out of this holiday with a mere one pound or 1.5 pound weight gain.

Suh-weeeeeet!

