Today I met my doctor to talk about being old. Okay, not old old, but baseline testing for being old. My family history is riddled with band genes – osteoarthritis, cancer, heart attackes, cholesterol, high blood pressure. I mean, we’re basically a walking genetic minefield of crap.  Except for the dead people. At least I hope they’re not walking, because the thought of my family as zombies is not right.

Anyway, I’m 35 years old, soon to be 36. In my life I’ve had one major medical issue that turned into the worst confluence of events. I had a seizure. The seizure medications made me depressed. The depression meds gave me colitis. The colitis meds gave me prednisone. The predisone gave me osteoarthritis. Fast forward 9 years, and I had my first joint replacement. It took a long time before I recovered my sense of self from that experience, and it was so f’ing painful I’ll do a LOT to avoid it. It made me sedentary, and you know the effect of being sedentary, right?

Fast forward to today. I work out 5-6 hours a week. I work exactly 37.5 hours a week. I have a great work-life balance. I’m in a healthy relationship and I love my family and friends. I have totally found myself.

Last August, I had high bad cholesterol, not enough of the good cholesterol, bad sugar levels, and other stuff. Oh, and fatty liver. I know, it makes me want to hurl a little, too.

Today I have slightly elevated total cholesterol, normal bad cholesterol, excellent good cholesterol, totally normal sugar and liver levels, and great iron levels. Awesome, right? I know, I’m pretty proud. My cholesterol (which, by the way, I’ve typed as “chocolate” every single time I’ve written in this post so far) is on the decline in a major way. I have a ways to go before we get to 2003 levels (totally normal), but I’m hoping to get there.

And then there’s the joint and muscle issues. I have active osteoarthritis in my right wrist, both hands, my upper back, and one shoulder. My right wrist has been aching a lot lately, and I thought I’d ask about it. Everyone’s on my case about an ergonomic assessment, but I know that’s okay. I’m positive it’s the arthritis. And it is. My wrist makes an audible sound when you hold onto it. It grinds. I know, I made you hurl a little just now. I’m sorry.

So, I’m off back to physio. Apparently they can help and maybe get me some splint action. Ideally without velcro, because MAN Velcro is loud. And then maybe I’ll make some fashion covers for the splints, cause I’m cool like that. And hopefully the physio will also help me out with my numb foot, while I’m at it!

I’m going to think positive. It took about 3 years before my right foot deteriorated enough to need surgery. I’m more active now, and I feel like I take better care of myself. I’m hoping beyond hope that this will work for me. I’m going to get a bone density scan to see if I have osteoarthritis, and will start taking a calcium supplement. I’ll splint where I have to (I think I might be able to make my own splint holders, in fashion fabrics!) and will take the necessary icing precautions.

And in the meantime, I’m clinging to those positive blood test results. Sometimes, that’s all you can do.

