I was trying to think about when the last time was that I was off work for the equivalent of six work days for a physical, not mental health reason. I think it was back when I had the flu in 2004, but even then I think was only for five days. I guess what I’m saying is that I don’t actually remember being this sick before.

Today I went in to the office for a few hours. It wasn’t pretty. I was heartened that one of the people who works with me gave me crap for coming into work (I’m fairly well known for sending people home when they’re sick, and since i’m the big cheese, they actually have to go). Theoretically, I should have waited until Monday. But you know what would have happened on Monday? A full regular workday, with 300 or so emails to go through on top of that. Going in today to clean out my inbox and deal with a few urgencies was the right move. It was the right thing to do for today, and for next week.

But man, was I tired when I left. I may have been a bit dehydrated, and oh my god I was sleepy. Not for any good reason – I got a great night’s sleep, I saw the wedding dress this morning (lovely – that whole wedding was lovely, especially the little smiles they exchanged throughout the ceremony), and moseyed into work at a very leisurely speed. It might be the drugs I’m on – it’s a new antibiotic I’ve never taken before and it’s a bit of a whammy.

Or, maybe, it’s just going to take some time to get over this. Which, I’m not gonna lie, is a little problematic considering I’m doing a (very short) triathlon in three weeks. How do you go to the gym when you still have a hard time breathing? How do you get in a pool when your ears still hurt?

Here’s what I’m thinking: I know I could do this triathlon in February, without training. I don’t have to run. I can walk that 2km at the end. I just have to get from here to reasonable fitness in three weeks, without setting myself back or getting hurt. I can do that. I’m sure I can do that.

How? Outdoors. I’m nowhere near as congested outdoors as I am indoors. Sunday it’s going to be nice and I’m going to walk in the woods. Not fast, not long, but for an hour at a decent speed. I think I’ll pick up my mum’s bike while I’m in that neck of the woods, and start going around the block next week at night, after work, before it gets dark. There’s no way I’m swimming on Tuesday (the thought alone makes me cringe), but that’s okay. I know I can swim 100m.

I don’t know. I’m basically going to walk until I can play squash, then play squash and walk until I can take a spinning class and then I’ll swim once or twice and then it’ll be triathlon day. I’ll finish. It won’t be pretty, but I’ll finish.

I can come back from this. I am strong. I am fit. And this is nothing but a short setback in a lifetime of fitness.

You know what I do need? A cheering section. Please come out and support me! It’s the Somersault Try a Tri on May 21st at Carleton University. I know a lot of you have kids and could stand to have a morning weekend activity. Make some signs. Cheer me on! I’m the one in all black. Red face. Sweaty. Needing love. Spelled KERRY. Goes well with “rocks”.

Let me know if you want to cheer me on and I’ll send you all the deets. I wouldn’t ask for this if I didn’t really need it.

