So, I hurt myself again. Yeah, I hurt my knee playing squash last weekend. It’s okay, I know what it is – the lateral motion required to change directions on a dime as really hard on your knees. And, since I have a muscle weakness in my butt (small muscle – the big ones are fine) and I wasn’t diligently doing the stretching and exercises prescribed by the athletic therapist, it was only to be expected.

I’ve spent the better part of a week now one legging it up and down stairs. Did I mention that I have a three storey house? That’s a lot of stairs, people. My poor right quads are on fire! Still, I’ve been stretching and strengthening and am now able to go up and down stairs with two legs as long as I’m supporting myself on the bannister or wall (or both). An intense massage, to be repeated on Tuesday, helped a lot, as has regular icing.

Still, there are a number of activities that don’t hurt. Primarily, anything that doesn’t require a side to side motion. So, last Monday (I love long weekends), I went to the gym and biked for 40 minutes. Tuesday, I went for a walk. Today, I went for a brisk 45 minute walk in the woods, which I think the mosquitoes enjoyed a lot more than I did (I got 16 bites… I’m very tasty).

Tomorrow, I’ll go back to the gym to hit the bike. I got some recommendations from other people who do solitary endurance activities about how to conquer boredom. The main recommendation was podcasts, so I downloaded a bunch recommended by friends and am ready to go. I’m going to try yoga on Monday, but there’s a fair bit of lateral movement in that, so I’m not holding my breath. I’ll still bring my sneakers.

It’s becoming increasingly clear that, as much as I love squash, I really can’t play more than twice a week. It’s just too hard on my body. I wonder if the key is moderation – a little bit of a bunch of different activities, instead of a lot of one?

What do you think? How do you keep yourself from getting injured?

