First, a picture of my outfit.

My friend who took this picture was excited to do so. She got up, focused the camera, got ready to take the picture, and pulled the camera away from her head. “Are you sure you don’t want to change your shoes?” she said to me. Uh, yeah. I’m wearing a Carmakoma dress and belt with leggings and a lacy slip thingy. I got a fair number of “you look hot!” and “wow!” comments today, which is nice.

Today was my first day back at work, post vacation. I spent four of my first 4.5 hours in meetings about a not very fun topic. I also got about three days worth of paperwork assigned to me before 8:30. It was some good times. But, I digress. In 11.5 weeks, I’m off for a five week vacation, and all is good. Plus, I feel confident that I’m going to win the lottery tonight, so I’m hoping to “retire” next week anyway.

I made a couple of really good steps over the past 12 days, I think.

  1. First, I really went over my living room with a fine toothed comb. It looks a lot more… ME. It’s tidier, and I’ve really purged what I don’t want/need anymore.
  2. Second, I finally painted my front hallway. I have nothing against “Russian White”, the colour the builder used throughout my house, but the paint quality was crap. Front hallways get really grungy, and a paint that isn’t scrubbable meant I was doing touchups every six months. Now I have a lovely creamy yellow front hallway, brightening up a relatively dark room. (Note: I have some touch up edging to do this weekend, but by and large, I’m done.)
  3. Third, when I ran out of diet coke at home, I didn’t replace it. This doesn’t mean I’m not going to drink it at work, but it’s a big deal to me to not have it in the house.
  4. Fourth, I ran out of peanut butter and didn’t replace it. I love peanut butter, but when it’s in the house, I eat toast and peanut butter (or english muffins and peanut butter) all the damned time. It’s sabotaging my healthy eating.
  5. Fifth, my workout clothing, including winter stuff and swim stuff, is all squared away. And cute! I’m ready to look good and feel good at the gym.

I’ve taken a few good steps, but need to take a few more. I need to finish up the purge of stuff by taking the leftovers to charity. Once I finish the touchups, I’m going to purge the stuff that’s been hanging out in the hallway shelves for, um, years.

My final step is to refocus my energy on healthy eating. I’ve lost focus and need to get it back. I’m having a really hard time right now because it’s so hot that the mere concept of even turning on the bbq makes me queasy. I might just buy pre-made entrees at Farm Boy for a couple of weeks, til there’s a break in the heat. Or, if I can get my stuff together, I might bbq at, um, 7am on a weekend day. Cause I’m awake then, so I might as well, right?

I’m going to try to avoid food that I think are triggers. Just for a while, to see if I can get the crap out of my system. I need your help though. What do you make for lunches and dinners when you don’t want to cook?

