Last night, no so much. Last night, I sewed many many many hundreds (maybe thousands) of bad stitches. I’m on my second sewing machine. I have unfortunately intermingled the bobbins from each. Somehow, I loaded up two bobbins last night, and one was good, and the other oh so very very wrong. So, I stabilized my quilt with some awesomely awesome quilting, and then it went all to shit. Sadly, I didn’t notice it for three rows. Did I mention this sucker is 46″ wide? Yeah. Enough said.

It took about 3.5 hours to rip out the three rows of stitches. No messing around, I went right back to the nearly empty good bobbin, ripped off the remaining thread, reloaded it, and (shock, horror, I’m not normally this smart) threw out the one that was so very very wrong.

Quilting style is “organic” and relatively dense. There’s a quilting line about every 1.25 to 1.5″ of fabric. They’re only horizontal. It’s something I saw on the web, based on the designs of Malka Dubrawsky. She doesn’t go for perfect straight, she goes for relatively dense and it really works.

ImageSee? it’s already wrinkly, and I haven’t even washed it yet! (PS – also, no binding. Work with me. It’s not finished.)

I have to say, I’m super happy with the back. I picked three blocks from the book Modern Blocks and went with it. I had a consult with the super ladies from Sew Fresh Fabrics who pulled together some backing and binding options for me and here’s the end result.

ImageI’m pretty excited. I’m going to make the binding for this sucker this week, sew it on next week, wash it to make it nice and soft and wrap it up for my Mum for her birthday, which we’re celebrating early this year, on Easter.

Yay!

