It’s tough to restart your life after vacation. As one of my colleagues said to me yesterday, I guess I sort of should have expected this to feel like the longest week of my life. I think it’s safe to say that I’m having a hard time getting back into the swing of things.

Within two days of being back in the office, my insomnia was back with a raging intensity. I sleep for a couple of hours, then I’m up for a few, then I sleep for a few. It’s frustrating for me, because I actually take drugs to prevent this from happening. No matter what’s going on in my head, I should technically be able to stay asleep.

But there’s a lot of hamsters running around up there. I came to a lot of decisions last month, and that turns out to have been the easy part. Now I have to implement them, which takes forethought and planning and persistence and organization and yeah.

There are a lot of things I decided that I’m never going to reveal on this blog, but here are a few that will have some pretty big impacts on my life.

On Monday, I called my cable/phone/internet company and made some pretty big changes. I’ve been with the same company for 12 years. I had high speed internet, a sweet cable package, and a home phone with them. But I resent having to pay so much money for something that is, in essence, a time suck. And I was increasingly frustrated about my work internet access. I’m required to carry a blackberry for work purposes, but I can’t actually use it for anything that I want to use it for (everything but the phone and highly net nannied internet is disabled).

So, the cable company and I negotiated pretty hard, and I ended up with 14 english TV channels and a new iPhone to replace my home phone.

The smartphone will provide me with an in your face, personal, actually useful tool for making some changes in my life. These changes are inspired by a group of fitness bloggers that I follow on Tumblr, including Brenna, Claire, and Anna. Together, these women (and the others I follow) have lost a lot of weight, battled their inner demons, and become fans of whole food and exercise. Admittedly, they’re all runners, which is something I will happily never be, but they mix it up with crossfit (which makes me think about exploding hearts) and other activities. I love the accountability they demonstrate (like this woman, who posts a picture of everything she eats to keep herself on track). I find them inspiring. Dudes, I’m on that. I’m gonna be inspiring.

To help with that, I did some research into apps that help you change your life a bit. Dudes, I love these guys. Side note: one of them had a repost on twitter the other day about how to survive the zombie apocalypse. It was pretty inspiring. Anyway, I downloaded a daily yoga workout app (20 minutes a day might help me when I’m not sleeping), a daily workout app to help me pick weight exercises, and a food/sleep/expenses tracker.

What what? Yeah, expenses. I may be taking a pay cut in the future, and I kind of want to make sure I can do it. And yeah, weights. I might not love doing weights, but I do love the way they make me feel. I love feeling strong and powerful and straight and upright and a little achy and yeah. Also, I want to be able to do a pull up. Eventually. I’m still working on pushups for the love of pete. (Side note: I was pleased to determine that I am not the only person who has to massage the sides of their chest the day after doing pushups. Sadly, most people are not doing that in their staff meetings. In front of employees.)

Here are my goals for June:

  • Sleep 7.5 hours a day, without having to make up for lost sleep on the weekend.
  • Track my food every. single. day.
  • Do at least one strength and one flexibility workout each week.
  • Play squash whenever the hell I want.
  • Do 20-30 minutes of something creative every day.
  • Set a budget and track my expenses against it.

I think these are all achievable goals. They’re small. They don’t take a lot of time. What they do take is forethought, planning, persistence and organization. I did the forethought, I have done the planning, and now I need to be persistent and organized.

I keep thinking about a reward system to keep me on track. So I’m going to work on developing the parameters for rewards for the goals. Do you think I should go for a reward for each goal, or for a time period achieving all of them? What rewards would you motivate you?

 

